Georgia writers honored

Writers Hall Of Fame1

In 2000, the University of Georgia (UGA) Libraries initiated the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame to recognize our state’s writers, past and present, and their work reflecting the character of where we live. A ceremony was recently held in Athens honoring the 2018 Hall of Fame inductees, who are:

  • Furman Bisher, former sportswriter and editor for the Atlanta Journal Constitution. He was honored posthumously by Georgia Trend publisher emeritus Neely Young.
  • Michael Bishop, author of more than 30 science fiction books, who was inducted by Dr. Hugh Ruppersburg of the UGA English department.
  • Tayari Jones, critically acclaimed novelist who wrote about the Atlanta child murders through children’s eyes. She was inducted by Dr. Barbara McCaskill of the UGA English department.
  • Frances Newman, whose novels revealed how her characters’ thoughts often were at odds with the expected social behavior of southern ladies. She was honored posthumously by Dr. James Cobb of the UGA history department.
  • Cynthia Shearer, Alapaha resident and fiction author, who was inducted by Mary Hood, also a Hall of Fame inductee.

The event also included a panel discussion of a new book about the late novelist Pat Conroy, who was a 2004 Hall of Fame inductee.

From left, author Terry Kay; Lynda Bisher, Furman’s widow; Neely Young, Georgia Trend publisher emeritus; and Toby Graham, university librarian and associate provost

Photo by Harry Hayes.

Do you follow us? Find us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.



Categories: Arts (Blog), Blog