Governor presents arts awards

Governor's Arts Awards

Twelve individuals and organizations from around the state recently received 2017 Governor’s Awards for the Arts and Humanities. Gov. Nathan Deal and First Lady Sandra Deal presented the awards in partnership with Georgia Humanities and the Georgia Council for the Arts. The honors recognize those who have made significant contributions to the growth of Georgia’s creative industries, which generate $62.5 billion in state economic impact and provide approximately 200,000 jobs. Recipients were recognized for their community involvement, pioneering programs and long-term financial commitment.

Congratulations to those who received the awards:

  • Karen Berman, chair of the Georgia College and State University Department of Theatre and Dance, Milledgeville
  • Valerie Boyd, distinguished writer in residence at UGA’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communications, Athens
  • William Eiland, director of the Georgia Museum of Art, Athens
  • Gilmer Arts and Heritage Association, Elijay
  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport Art Program, Atlanta
  • Virginia Hepner, former president and CEO of Woodruff Arts Center, Atlanta
  • Kenny Leon, Broadway and film director, Atlanta
  • The Annette Howell Turner Center for the Arts, Valdosta
  • Pearl McHaney, Georgia State University professor of southern literature, Decatur
  • National Infantry Museum Foundation, Columbus
  • Janisse Ray, writer and naturalist, Reidsville
  • Lois Reitzes, program host for National Public Radio station WABE, Atlanta

Photo features recipients of the 2017 Governor’s Awards for the Arts and Humanities with Gov. Nathan Deal and First Lady Sandra Deal, center. Photo provided by Georgia Council for the Arts.

Categories: Arts (Blog), Blog