Election Day

Screenshot2014 11 04at6.44.24am 8da94838

It's Election Day – the day we get to exercise our rights as Americans and vote for our preferred state and national leaders. Take advantage of the freedom to express your opinion through the voting process as our government transitions the way it has for more than two centuries – peacefully and with the participation of our citizens.

Check back to tomorrow. We'll have a list of winners as well as those who are headed for a runoff. The date for a general election runoff for state and local races is Dec. 2. For federal races, it’s Jan. 6, 2015.

Candidates for some of the high-profile and statewide elections are listed below with links to their websites. Learn more, then get out and vote!

– Karen Kirkpatrick

U.S. Senator

Michelle Nunn (D)

David Perdue (R)

Amanda Swafford (L)


Jason Carter (D)

Nathan Deal (R)

Andrew Hunt (L)

Lieutenant Governor

Casey Cagle (R)

Connie Stokes (D)

Secretary of State

Doreen Carter (D)

Brian Kemp (R)

Attorney General

Greg Hecht (D)

Sam Olens (R)

Commissioner of Agriculture

Gary Black (R)

Chris Irvin (D)

Commissioner of Insurance and Fire Safety

Ralph Hudgens (R)

Elizabeth “Liz” Johnson (D)

Edward “Ted” Metz (L)

State Superintendent of Schools

Valarie Wilson (D)

Richard Woods (R)

Commissioner of Labor

Mark Butler (R)

Robbin Shipp (D)

U.S. Congress, District 1

E.L. “Buddy” Carter (R)

Brian Corwin Reese (D)

U.S. Congress, District 2

Sanford Bishop (D)

Greg Duke (R)

U.S. Congress, District 3

Lynn Westmoreland (R)

U.S. Congress, District 4

Hank Johnson (D)

U.S. Congress, District 5

John Lewis (D)

U.S. Congress, District 6

Robert “Bob” Montigel (D)

Tom Price (R)

U.S. Congress, District 7

Thomas Wight (D)

Rob Woodall (R)

U.S. Congress, District 8

Austin Scott (R)

U.S. Congress, District 9

Doug Collins (R)

David Vogel (D)

U.S. Congress, District 10

I. K. “Ken” Dious (D)

Jody Hice (R)

U.S. Congress, District 11

Barry Loudermilk (R)

U.S. Congress, District 12

R. W. “Rick” Allen (R)

John Barrow (D)

U.S. Congress, District 13

David Scott (D)

U.S. Congress, District 14

J.T. “Tom” Graves (R)

Georgia Capitol Photo credit

Categories: Blog, Politics (Blog)